“YPT is an opportunity to connect with like-minded professionals, who are passionate about transportation and urban issues. I particularly enjoy learning with and from my peers in relaxed, fun settings.”

YPT Chicago is governed by a Board of Directors who develop the organization’s mission and activities. Our Board and other members of our leadership represent a diverse group of young transportation professionals and students from across the transportation spectrum in both the private and public sector. The board meets each month. Please contact us if you are interested in attending an upcoming meeting. Follow our Facebook Page, join our LinkedIn group, and connect with us via Email.

The Board

Jerom Theunissen, Chair
Transportation Engineer, Jacobs
Caitlin Bettisworth, Vice Chair
Senior Project Manager, R.M. Chin & Associates, Inc.
Matt Weiss, Vice Chair for Administration
Community Strategist, Lyft
Emma Chapman, Vice Chair for Finance
Associate, Cambridge Systematics, Inc.
Krishna Akkaram, Vice Chair for Communications
Transportation Engineer, TranSmart
Ashton Hicks, Vice Chair for Programming I
Transportation Consultant & Analyst, High Street
Daniel Comeaux, Vice Chair for Programming II
Associate Transportation Policy Analyst, CMAP
Dimitris Nioras, Vice Chair for Student Relations
Service Planner, CTA
Michael Schuch, Vice Chair for Sponsorship
Deputy Project Manager, Morreale Communications

Interested in being on the board? Elections take place each fall with the new board term starting on November 1st each year. Vacancies are filled on a rolling basis. Email us to learn more or express interest.

Please contact us at yptchi@gmail.com for further information or inquiries.

Past Board Chairs

Erik Cempel, Founder, Chair 2012-2014
Christina Arthur, Chair 2014-2015
Charlie Monte Verde, Chair 2015-2016
Kelsey Watterworth, Chair 2016-2017
Alvaro Villagran, Chair, 2017-2018
Shane Misztal, Chair, 2018-2019
Anusha Suryanarayanan, Chair, 2019-2020